[#3] Sleep

Do you ever have the urge to slap someone late at night? I do.

Here’s the thing: I work as a Summer Crew member in Cedarville University and it’s part of my job description to live in one of the male dormitories (Lawlor Hall). Currently, Cedarville is hosting a camp where hundreds of high schoolers come to learn more about music/worship/etc. That’s fine and all, but everyone brought with them guitars, percussion sets, and all kinds of instruments. They’re literally in my face like:

Once again, I’m cool with that. They can do what ever the heck they want… as long as it doesn’t disturb my sleep. All the guys in my hall during the academic year know what my biggest rule is: RESPECT QUIET HOURS. Don’t you dare disrupt my sleep time.

Anyhow, last night at 12:30 AM, I’m done reading a book and I’m ready to go to bed. I’m all tucked in and snuggled in my blanket. Then I hear the noise:

Guys upstairs just belting out to “Blessed Be Your Name”, banging the floor with their feet and tearing their guitars up.

I thought I’d be gracious and let them finish that one song. But NOOOOOOO. They had to continue.

I struggled with my inner demons, restraining myself. But… it came down to this:

And then… it happened.

 I just couldn’t stand it anymore. I got out of bed, stomped upstairs, knocked on their doors severals times before they could hear anything over the racket of their instruments. I told them with surprising gentleness that they have to STOP. And they did. My only prayer is that this courtesy will continue throughout the week.

Moral of the story: Don’t ever mess with my sleep. Please.

P.S. I’m weirdly fascinated with GIF files.  

Leave a Reply

